top of page
  • Writer's pictureDaniel Rodriguez

The Chapter 7 bankruptcy means test

The first part of the means test The first part of the means test is performed using data found on Chapter 7 bankruptcy petitions. To pass the means test, the income stated by the petitioner must be less than the median income for a household of the same size. Wages, salaries, tips, alimony, child support and pensions are considered when the Chapter 7 means test is performed, but Social Security Disability and retirement benefits are not.

The second part of the means test Failing the first part of the means test does not necessarily lead to a Chapter 7 petition being denied. When petitioners earn more than the state median income for households of the same size, a second set of calculations is run that factors in their monthly expenses. This is why it is important to be thorough and include all expenses and household members when competing bankruptcy forms.

Bankruptcy myths The Chapter 7 means test is sometimes portrayed as an almost insurmountable barrier for people seeking debt relief, but that is just one of many myths surrounding bankruptcy. The bankruptcy laws exist to give people who have run into financial problems the chance to escape debt and enjoy a new start, but many choose not to seize this opportunity because they believe things that are not true or worry about things that may never happen.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Why you need a bankruptcy certificate

You must find an approved course provider The bankruptcy certificate verifies that you have taken a debtor education and credit counseling course that is certified by the U.S. Trustee Program. The jud


bottom of page